Dementia stages

Dementia is a set of symptoms which occur when the brain is damaged by a condition, such as Alzheimer’s disease or a series of strokes. The stages below provide an overall idea of how abilities change once symptoms appear and are intended to be used as a general guide. Please, be aware that it may be difficult to place a person with Dementia in a specific stage as stages can overlap.

There are three major stages of dementia. The following are different symptoms
during the different stages:

First stage

Communication challenges

Second stage

Purposeless wandering and becoming lost
Confusion with time
Changes in sleep patterns
Personality and behavioural changes
Moods and emotions

Third stage

Changes in behaviour
Restricted mobility
Inability to recognise people and places
Inexplicable agitations
Unwillingness to move on their own

If you want to know more about the different dementia stages, you can read more

about it on our partner website: Care for Carers.